Library Loot (January 10 to 16)

badge-4

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Sharlene from Real Life Reading that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Happy Wednesday! What did you get from your library this week?

Claire has the link-up this time.

The kids wanted to get their own library cards, so I signed them up and picked up their cards.

Here’s my latest library loot:

I ended up borrowing so many print books this time around, many of which work for the Japanese Literature Challenge.

Run On Your New Legs vol 1 – Midori Wataru

A manga about a boy who loses his leg during an accident.

Asadora vol 3 to 7 – Naoki Urasawa

The kids and I enjoyed the first two volumes of this manga that features a young girl (now a teen it looks like) in post-war Japan.

And Then – Soseki Natsume, translated by Norma Moore Field

I’m attempting a Japanese classic! This was published in 1909.

There’s No Such Thing As An Easy Job – Kikuko Tsumura, translated by Polly Barton

A Japanese story about the search for meaning in a workplace.

Frontera – Julio Anta, Jacoby Salcedo

A teenager attempts the dangerous border crossing through the Sonoran Desert.

Crumbs – Danie Stirling

A cute cover! Looks like it has to do with a magic bakery.

My Annihilation – Fuminori Nakamura

Nakamura has written some very strange books, and so I don’t expect anything else from him.

Honeybees and Distant Thunder – Riku Onda, translated by Philip Gabriel

Based on the title, I wasn’t expecting a story set around a piano competition, so I’m intrigued.

Kids’ Loot:

2 Comments

  1. I picked up Honeybees and Distant Thunder a few months ago, intrigued that it was centered around a piano competition. I wasn’t in quite the right mood for it (it felt a bit young adult-y for what I wanted right then) but I remain intrigued. Happy reading!

    Like

Comments are closed.