It’s Monday (April 15, 2024)

Some things last week:

We took my mom out for a very early Mother’s Day lunch of seafood! She’s visiting from Singapore and won’t be here during Mother’s Day. We had uni pasta, calamari, and more.

My mom loved the seafood tower! There were so many different types of seafood:

a dozen oysters, mussels, prawn cocktail, uni, tuna sashimi, scallops, a whole lobster, snow crab!

Made focaccia – was initially confused by a recipe I found online which suggested it didn’t need much kneading, and Claire Saffitz’s recipe, which uses the mixer and dough hook to knead it for a good ten min or so. So in the end, I follow Saffitz’s method to knead it more although I had already started the other recipe. It did come out nice and airy, and the kids devoured it.

It was also the readathon on Saturday, and I had planned on reading some of these. Instead I read none of these books, but I did finish up one book (The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store) that I had been dragging my heels on (more when I put up my post on it). As well as a couple of other books too.

Currently…

Reading:

The Fox Maidens – Robin Ha

Mater 2-10 – Hwang Sok-yong

Watching:

With the rest of the family, Wonka! I hadn’t realised that it was a Willy Wonka origin story, and not a remake of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (not that I have anything against that, but I guess I was into a more original storyline).

Listening:

I just finished listening to The Rabbit Hutch and am looking for a new audiobook

Eating and Drinking:

Oolong tea at the moment as I have a ticklish throat!

Cooking:

It’s a chilly Monday morning (and it was an unusually chilly April weekend), and with my ticklish throat I thought I’d make some vegetable soup for lunch.

Last week:

I read:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow – Mariko Tamaki

The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store – James McBride

I posted:

The Blood Trials by N.E. Davenport

Read in February 2024

Library Loot (April 10 to 16)

Squire by Nadia Shammas and Sara Alfageeh

badge
 
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date

One Comment

Comments are closed.